The Copper Coast


The Kernewek Lowender Copper Coast Cornish Festival is held biennially on the Copper Coast.

 Experience Yorke Peninsula

    Explore the Yorke Peninsula

The Copper Coast is located on northern Yorke Peninsula, in South Australia, and lies 160 kilometres north of South Australia’s capital city of Adelaide.

The Peninsula’s three largest urban centres are Kadina, Moonta and Wallaroo, and the Local Government Area of the District Council of the Copper Coast covers an area of some 750 square kilometres, servicing a population of approximately 14,000 people and 400,000 visitors annually.

It is predominantly a cropping and livestock region, with its agriculture sector well supported by significant bulk grain handling and commodity facilities at the port of Wallaroo. Other industries include manufacturing, mining (limestone, granite, dolomite, gypsum, copper and sand), fishing (scale fish, prawn, crab, abalone, oyster and mussel), health and community services, retail and tourism.

The Copper Coast is famous for having some of South Australia’s best holiday beaches, and is a region rich in history and thriving coastal developments.

The closure of the copper mines in 1923 resulted in major population decline, with agriculture then becoming the primary mainstay of the region.